Bring on the rat!

When Lisa and I were traveling in Vietnam, we the pleasure of dining on rat.  We were in Can Tho in the Mekong Delta and had stopped for dinner at a riverside restaurant.  Rat was on the menu and I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try it.  Lisa admonished me, “If that thing comes to the table with a head and a tail, I’m leaving!”  I had two choices of preparation method: steamed or grilled.  I think I made the right choice in grilled because, let me tell you, the Vietnamese know how to grill meat!  The rat was served on a plate with some rice and a couple vegetables.  It had been halved and grilled with some kind of sweet sauce that made the skin crispy, caramelized and so delicious!  Lisa and our traveling partner, Carol, both tried it and loved it.  And yes, the rat was without head or tail.

So, imagine my pleasure when I read this article from the WSJ.

Leave a Reply

