Restaurant Wages and Staff Shortages

Check out this interesting article from the San Francisco Chronicle

Chefs’ high hopes, low pay leave S.F. restaurants starved for help

As for me, I finished up my stage at Del Posto. I have been spending these past couple of weeks working on a consulting project with my former culinary management instructor. A major national restaurant group contacted him to do a market analysis of a potential site in downtown Manhattan. We have been doing lots of site visits, research, and writing in preperation for our presentation this Thursday. He and I are going down to D.C. to meet with the company executives and to present our findings. It has been a very interesting experience and will very much come in handy when Lisa and I are working towards opening our own place.

After Thanksgiving I am going to start my next stage at Gotham Bar & Grill with the very talented Pastry Chef Deborah Racicot. I am still doing catering a couple days a week as well as making desserts for Lisa’s company once a month. I don’t really make much money on that one, but it is a nice thing to do for everyone at her company. The CEO is a huge foodie and just loves the desserts that I bring in. This month I plan on making a Caramel Apple Tart, Fran’s Gold Bar Brownies, and Creme Fraiche Ice Cream. I love Fall!

Leave a Reply

